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2-6 Players, 45-90 min, Ages 14+ ©2013 Asmadi Games

igures in the Sand

In addition to various ideas and innovations from history, players can now enlist the aid

of the brightest minds and sharpest leaders as they travel through the ages. These Figures
will provide Inspire effects enhancing your card-drawing abilities, Karma effects granting
permanent benefits to your cause, and powerful decrees that can swing the momentum of
the game. Your civilization’s fate hangs in the balance as you use these new tools. Lead your
people to victory!

New Cards

Innovation: Figures in the Sand contains 105 historical ‘Figures’ from the same ages as the
technology cards from Innovation and Innovation: Echoes of the Past. They are similar in
layout, but instead of a dogma effect, each Figure contains a karma effect. Karma effects are
not activated by an action -- they provide some continuous benefit as long as the Figure is a
top card. Figure cards are more fragile than technology cards, as Figures are mortal and fade
over time -- you'll usually only be able to keep one active Figure at a time. Some Figures also
have Inspire effects. These will allow you to take an enhanced Draw action once per turn
called an Inspire action.



Setup

Separately shuftle the age decks of each expansion you are using. Do not mix Figures in with
the Base cards. Stack them underneath the Base cards, in a cross (or underneath both sets in
a double cross, if playing with Echoes of the Past). This expansion does not require Echoes
of the Past cards, but does use the rules it introduced for Foreshadow, Bonus, Echo Effects,
and multiple achievements of the same age (p11-12**).

Updated Setup for Echoes of the Past: Instead of counting cards and shuffling Echoes and
Base cards into one deck as originally described in the Echoes of the Past rulebook, keep the
decks separate and stack them in a cross pattern as with the Figures cards.

Achievements: Take one Base card from each age 1-9 (not 10!) to form the standard
achievements. Also place the special achievement cards from each included set with the

achievements, along with the five Decree cards.

Game Start: Start rules are not changed when playing with Figures in the Sand.

Terminology Note: There are now three types of cards -- Base, Echoes, and
Figures. They are referred to by those names in this book, and the type
keyword is used in some effects.




Setup Example

Initial setup for a game using both A

expansmns

Stack of Base, Echoes,
Figures cards.

Stack of Base, Figures
cards, no Echoes.




Drawing Expansion Cards

Any time you draw a card of any type for any reason, skip empty ages, and draw from the
next-highest non-empty age. An age is considered empty if there are no Base cards available,
regardless of how many expansion cards are available and which type you are drawing. The
keyword type refers to which expansion a card comes from.

If you ever need to draw an expansion card but none of the appropriate age are available,
draw a Base card of that age instead.

Figures are not drawn with draw actions, or effects that instruct you to draw cards unless
they specifically tell you to draw a Figure. There are two ways in which Figures are drawn.
First, any time you would draw a card as a share bonus after a dogma action, draw a Figure
instead. Second, any time a player claims a standard achievement with the Achieve action,
each other player draws a Figure. In both of these cases draw a Figure of value equal to your
highest top card, remembering to skip empty ages. Once in your hand, on your board, or in
your score pile, Figures behave like any other card.

Since Echoes cards are no longer shuftled in to the Base deck for each age, they are instead
drawn with the following rule: When drawing a Base card for any reason, if you have
cards in your hand but none are Echoes cards, draw an Echoes card instead.



Partway through a game, Age 2 is ‘empty,
because it has no Base cards available.

To the right are several examples of effects
that result in card draws, and what happens
in each situation.

In this example, the age
1 Figures deck and the
age 2 Base deck have
been depleted.

With an empty hand

Draw a 2: Draw a Base 3. Age 2 is skipped
because it is empty.

Draw two 1: Draw a Base 1, then an Echoes 1.
After drawing the Base 1, hand is non-empty.

Share bonus, highest top card is a 1: Draw a Base
1. Ifa type of card is not available, always draw a
base instead.

With a hand containing one Base card

Draw a 2: Draw an Echoes 3. Skip age 2 because
it is empty. It is an Echoes 3 because your hand is
non-empty but contains no Echoes.

Draw two 2: Draw an Echoes 3, then a Base 3.
Again, each draw is independent.

Share bonus, highest top card is a 2: Draw a
Figures 3. Again, skip the empty age 2.




Karma
There are three types of karma effects found on Figures. Some Figures have more than one.

When: Of the form “When you meld this card, ...” and continue with instructions. Follow
the instructions immediately when the Figure is melded.

Each: These begin with “Each ...” and then list something on your cards that will be
modified. This can be icons, cards in a certain location, or your score, and the karma
effect will describe how they are changed. Each effects are continuous as long as the Figure
remains a top card.

Would: Starts with “If you would ____;” and continues with a triggering condition and
a reaction. When that condition occurs, the karma effect interrupts whatever effect was
in progress. If the reaction starts with “instead”, cancel the original effect and follow
the instructions of the karma effect instead. If the reaction starts with “first”, follow the
instructions of the karma effect, and then continue with the original effect.

Karma effects never chain or trigger off of other karma effects. In the rare case that multiple
Would karmas would be triggered by the same action, the current player decides which
karma occurs and ignores the others.



Examples:

A top Figure on your board has the karma effect “If you would meld a yellow card, first
meld every non-yellow card in hand” As an action on your turn, you decide to meld a
yellow card. You announce this, then execute the karma text and meld several non-yellow
cards from your hand. You then proceed to meld the yellow card.

A top Figure on your board has the karma effect “If you would meld a card over another

of the same or higher value, instead tuck it.” As an action on your turn, you decide to meld
an age 2 card on top of an age 2 card on your board. You announce this, then execute the
karma text and tuck that card instead. You do not meld the card, because ‘instead’” prevents
it.

A top Figure on your board has the karma effect “Each top card with a l on your board
counts as an available achievement for you.” Your top red card is Gunpower, age 4. With
20 points, you take an Achieve action, and can claim Gunpowder instead of one of the
normally available achievements.

Remember, any time some portions of an effect are not possible, do as much of the effect as
you can, and ignore what you cannot do.



Fade

At the end of any action (on any player’s turn), if you have more than one top Figure you
must fade the excess. To fade a Figure, score it. You must continue fading Figures one by
one until you have only one top Figure. You choose which Figures to fade.

If you meld a card on top of a Figure, the Figure card becomes a part of the stack of that
color, possibly continuing to contribute icons, bonuses, echo effects, and inspire effects
to your board, just like a normal technology card. Figures that are partially visible due to
splaying do not count for fading.

Using the Dogma action on a Figure

Although Figures do not have dogma effects, you can still choose to activate them with a
dogma action to use the visible echo effects in that color stack on your board, if any. The
featured icon is the icon type present on the Figure card, which is also between the card’s
name and age.

Echo effects are explained on p12, if you have not already played Innovation: Echoes of the
Past.



The Inspire Action and Inspire Effects

Inspire is a new action type (like Draw, Meld, Achieve, Dogma) that serves as an enhanced
Draw action. You may take an Inspire action only once per turn, and only if there are any
inspire effects visible on your board. Choose one color containing visible Inspire effects,
and execute each of them in order from the bottom card up to the top. Then, draw a card of
value equal to your top card in that color. These effects are not shared in any way. Note that
an Inspire action might allow you to draw a different age card than a draw action would!

Inspire effects are text in spotlights, in place of card icons. In the example below, you could
take an Inspire action choosing red. You would tuck a card from your hand, meld a card
from your hand, and then draw a 1, because Archery is your top red card.

BEXEESE - A
L1 : I demand you draw a H, then
transfer the highest card in yourh'and
to my hand!
Tucka Meld a
card from < card from
L your hand. your hand. 1




Decrees and the Decree Action

Innovation: Figures in the Sand includes five Decree cards, one for each color. Decrees
are a special type of achievement, but unlike all other achievements Decrees are not safe
and can be stolen. All five Decrees begin in the center of the table with the other Special
Achievements. Decrees are claimed by taking a Decree action, a new action type you can
take on your turn.

You may only take a Decree action if you have three Figures of different values in your hand.
To do so, remove all the cards in your hand from the game (including both Figures and non-
Figures). Then, choose a Decree matching the color of one of the Figures you discarded. If
it is in another player’s Achievement pile, return it to the area with the Special Achievements.
Otherwise, claim it as an Achievement and activate its effect. Activated Decrees are very
powerful! Using them effectively is key to victory.

Many Figures allow you to activate a specific Decree with ‘any two Figures. When doing so,
the color and age of the Figures in your hand is irrelevant, but you still remove your entire
hand from the game.

It is possible to activate a Decree you already possess, skipping the claim portion of the
Decree action, simply executing its effect.



Victory Conditions with Expansions

The Base number of Achievements needed to win a game of Innovation is 6. For each player
in the game beyond 2, decrease that number by 1. For each expansion you are playing with,
increase that number by 1. The minimum number of Achievements to win is 5, regardless
of the number of players and expansions. For team play, count each team as one player for
this calculation.

Remember that claimed Decrees count as Achievements.
Claiming Multiple Achievements of the Same Age

Through some effects on Echoes and Figures cards, additional achievements may become
available. Normally, to claim an achievement, you need a top card of value equal to or
higher than the achieved card’s age, and five times or more points than the achieved card’s
age. If you are claiming a duplicate achievement (an age 2 achievement when you already
have one, for example), you must also have twice as many points as usual (20, in this case).
To claim a third duplicate, you would need three times as many, and so forth.



Rules from Innovation: Echoes of the Past

The Innovation: Echoes of the Past expansion contains 105 different technology cards, but it
is not required to play with Figures. This expansion does, however, use the new mechanics it
introduced. You can mix and match Innovation expansions, playing with the original game
plus any number of expansion sets. The following mechanics were introduced in the Echoes
of the Past expansion:

Bonus: Bonuses provide points in addition to your score pile. Count the highest visible
bonus on your board as points, and add one point for each other visible bonus. So, if you
had bonuses 9, 9, 4 on your board, you would have 11 extra points.

Forecast: Cards in your Forecast are things you'll unlock in the future, typically cards of
value higher than those on your board. If you take a Meld action (but not when an effect
instructs you to meld a card!) you may afterward meld a card from your Forecast that is of
equal or lower value than the melded card. You may then take a free Dogma action (not
counting as one of your two per turn) choosing the card you melded from your Forecast.
Cards enter your Forecast via the Foreshadow keyword. If instructed to ‘Draw and
Foreshadow a 4; you would draw a 4, and then place it in your Forecast.



Echo Effects: When you perform the Dogma action, you execute not only the dogma effects
on the card you choose but also all visible echo effects on your cards of that color. Echo
effects are executed before dogma effects. Start from the bottom card and proceed up to the
top card, and then to the dogma effects. Echo effects are shared by any players that would be
eligible to share the dogma effects of the top card.

Echo Effects are surrounded by a square black border, while Inspire effects are inside a
spotlight. Bonuses are a single number with a laurel. All three are shown below.

Echo Inspire Bonus
Draw and Score a ‘

K | foreshadow a cardfom B
or@. your hand. ?)

The full Echoes of the Past rulebook is available on the Asmadi Games website
(AsmadiGames.com).



Cards FAQ/Clarifications

Hammurabi[1]: A successful demand is one that would result in a change -- ‘T demand you
transfer your top green card to my board!” is not a successful demand if the target has no
green cards.

Ximen Bao[2]: Execute each color’s effects from bottom to top before proceeding to the next
color.

Ptolemy[2]: If executing a blue card from another player’s board, execute all the echo effects
from that stack, not yours.

Alhazen|[3]: These values only count for Draw and Inspire actions, not for effects that refer
to ‘the value of your highest purple card’ and so forth.

Samuel de Champlain[5]: The achievement must be one of the available achievements.

Shivaji[5]: The opponent does not get to take an additional action, it is spent on the
attempted achievement.

George Stephenson[7]: An age with Figures or Echoes cards but no Base cards is empty.



Rules FAQ/Clarifications

Decrees can never be any place except for a player’s achievements pile, or the center of the
table.

When a player claims a standard achievement, other players draw their Figure in clockwise
order. In rare cases order will matter because the Figures for an age will run out.

Claiming an achievement via anything beside the Achieve action (a dogma, karma, or
echo effect, for example) does NOT cause other players to draw a Figure. Claiming special
achievements or Decrees likewise does not cause other players to draw a Figure.

The types and values of cards in a player’s hand, score pile, forecast, and achievement pile
are always public knowledge.

If a series of actions involving Figures is historically accurate or tells an amazing story, you
are required to post about this fact on BGG or elsewhere to tell the world.



Credits

Game Design: Carl Chudyk  Game Development: Chris Cieslik

Graphical Design: Cara Judd  Editing: Alys Dutton

Playtesting: Ian Nowland, Anne Nowland, Ted Vessenes, Rebecca Vessenes, Jessica Maryott,
Eric Reuss, Andy Latto, and everyone who participated in the Beta program. Thanks for
helping us evolve this expansion from good to awesome!

Thanks again to everyone who has enjoyed Innovation, and helped us bring it from a novel
to an award-winning and popular game. It is the best feeling to walk around gaming areas at

conventions and consistently see Innovation being played and enjoyed.

Please feel free to contact us at AsmadiGames@gmail.com with any rules questions, or post
to the BoardGameGeek forums, which we frequent.

Also, you should play Win, Lose, or Banana at http://WinLoseorBanana.com/

Stay tuned for the next expansion in 2013...



